Board Members

Phillip DarntonPhillip Darnton
(chair) - Was Chairman and Chief Executive of Raleigh plc for two years following successful career with Unilever plc. President of the Bicycle Association, which represents the cycle industry.
Dave MerrettDave Merrett
(local transport) - A York City Councillor from 1982, he led successive York Councils on transport matters 1988 – 2002, culminating in York being judged to be England’s best cycling city in 2003.

Alison HillAlison Hill
(health) - Programme Director, South East Public Health Observatory
John GrimshawJohn Grimshaw
(engineering) - Director and Chief Engineer, Sustrans

Lynn SlomanLynn Sloman
(sustainable transport) - Transport consultant, formerly with Transport 2000 and specialist advisor to the Board of Transport for London
Kevin MayneKevin Mayne
(training) - Director of CTC, the National Cyclists' Organisation

Peter KingPeter King
(sport) - Chief Executive of British Cycling, the key cycle sport body
Christian WolmarChristian Wolmar
(integrated transport policy) - Writer and broadcaster specialising in transport

Chris SpencerChris Spencer
(education) - Director of Education, Youth and Leisure to the London Borough of Hillingdon, he is a regular cyclist and triathlete, who cycles to work from Oxford during the summer months.

If you would like to contact the Board please send an email to

Search This Site

reasons to get on your bike
schemes in your area